Hyundai A-League classic clashes: Victory inflict more GF pain on the Reds

Saturday night sees the latest instalment of the #OriginalRivalry as Melbourne Victory takes on Adelaide United at AAMI Park.

The two clubs have played out some feisty clashes in the Hyundai A-League and with spots in the top four up for grabs, this one should be just as explosive.

And if it’s anything like the Hyundai A-League 2008/09 Grand Final between the two sides then it should be full of action and drama.

After Victory’s 6-0 demolition of the Reds in the decider two years earlier, Adelaide were after revenge but would ultimately fall short again.

But it wasn’t without controversy as the Reds saw striker Cristiano sent off by referee Matthew Breeze inside 10 minutes after his flailing arm caught the side of Rodrigo Vargas’ head.

The visitors did their best to hold on for just under an hour before Victory got the breakthrough to send the crowd of almost 54,000 into raptures.

After a classy back-heel from Evan Berger, Tom Pondeljak produced a wonder strike from 25 yards which snuck inside the post.

The drama was far from over.

Soon after Victory’s goal their striker Danny Allsopp saw red following an altercation inside the box with Reds defender Robert Cornthwaite.

While Scott Jamieson went close to an equaliser from a curling free-kick, Victory held on to clinch their second title in three seasons.

Tom Pondeljak celebrates his winning goal in the 2008/09 decider.
Tom Pondeljak celebrates his winning goal in the 2008/09 decider.