Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League 2018/19 Seasons officially launched

Football Federation Australia (FFA) and FOX SPORTS day officially launched the Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League 2018/19 Seasons on Monday under the banner of “Where Heroes Are Made”.

With players from all Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League clubs represented, including marquee stars Sam Kerr from Perth Glory and Keisuke Honda from Melbourne Victory, this is the first time that both competitions have been jointly launched highlighting the joint marketing campaign for the upcoming season.

READ MORE: Five things to watch out for in Round 1

GET AROUND IT: How to watch Round 1 of the Hyundai A-League

Speaking at Monday’s launch, FFA CEO David Gallop AM said he was excited about the calibre of players that have been recruited across the leagues.

“This season promises to be one of the most exciting in many years,” said Gallop.

“New marquees in both the Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League, a brilliant new campaign – Where Heroes Are Made - highlighting the essence of what our game is all about, a better experience for our fans at the games and more exposure than ever before with an increased broadcast schedule and new platforms where fans all over the country can experience our football.

“Last year, we made a strategic decision together with our broadcast partner Fox Sports to reintroduce the marquee fund for this season.

“I’m delighted that we have been able to secure two truly world class players to our competitions in Sam Kerr and Keisuke Honda.

Keisuke Honda
Keisuke Honda

“It is no secret that either of these stars could have been playing anywhere in the world right, but we are excited they have made the decision to be part of the Westfield W-League and Hyundai A-League this season.

“Off the park we have been working overtime with clubs, stadium management, supporter groups and the police around the country to improve the fan experience.

“We know that our unique experience at our game is one of the key differences between us and other sports and we want to nurture that, we want our fans to be active and we are working hard to ensure that football atmosphere, which is unlike anything else is a feature of our match days again this season,” he said.

Mr Gallop said more fans will be able to experience Hyundai A-League matches with games to be streamed for the first time on the Telstra network with the My Football Live App and Telstra Live Pass.

“There will be more Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League matches viewed than ever before whether it’s on your big screen at home or your mobile device when you are out and about.

“The Westfield W-League fixtures will feature as a stand-alone game on Fox Sports each Thursday night, giving our women’s game unprecedented exposure.

“We are extremely proud of our partnership with Fox Sports Australia, who have been with us from the beginning and continue to back this great sport. Many of this season’s new initiatives are the fruit of genuine collaboration between our two organisations and I thank Peter Campbell and his team,” he said.

Speaking from the launch, Head of FOX SPORTS Peter Campbell said: “There is so much to look forward to this summer and FOX SPORTS will be the central destination for fans to see all of the ad-break free action from the Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League.”

Round 1 of the Hyundai A-League 2018/19 Season kicks off this Friday night with Adelaide United hosting Sydney FC at Coopers Stadium. Saturday night will see the much anticipated Hyundai A-League debut of Keisuke Honda for Melbourne Victory in the Melbourne Derby at Marvel Stadium.

Sunday will feature a triple treat beginning with Wellington Phoenix hosting last season’s grand finalists, the Newcastle Jets. This will be followed by the Brisbane Roar FC taking on the Central Coast Mariners at Suncorp Stadium with the opening round rounded out with Perth Glory up against the Western Sydney Wanderers FC at nib Stadium.

The Westfield W-League 2018/19 Season starts the following Thursday night (25 October) with a Sydney Derby at Marconi Stadium. Sunday 28 October will also feature three matches with Brisbane Roar FC hosting Perth Glory at Suncorp Stadium, Canberra United up against Melbourne City FC at McKellar Park and Melbourne Victory facing Adelaide United at AAMI Park.

For the latest information regarding the Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League, please visit or respectively.