FFA launches Hyundai A-League 2013/14 season

Football Federation CEO David Gallop today officially launched the Hyundai A-League 2013/14 season.

Football Federation CEO David Gallop today officially launched the Hyundai A-League 2013/14 season with football-s marquee stars aligning in Sydney and Melbourne to ensure last season-s breakthrough into the mainstream of Australian sport continues.

The 2013/14 season will feature 10 clubs, 127 regular season fixtures, a sudden death finals series, international marquee players and an expanding group of talented Australian players who will all be hoping to book a place in the Socceroos squad for the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

All matches will be broadcast LIVE and in HD by Fox Sports with SBS joining the Football Family to give the Hyundai A-League its first taste of free-to-air exposure, which will ensure the record numbers in TV ratings, crowds and memberships from 2012/13 takes another step forward.

FFA is also proud to announce a four-year media partnership with ABC radio, which will broadcast whistle-to-whistle uninterrupted live coverage of all 127 regular season games into households around the country on its ABC Radio platforms.

The coaching revolution that has seen the standard of the Hyundai A-League move forward will continue to drive the players but ultimately it is the fans who - “Power The Game”.

“The colour, noise and theatre created by the fans is truly unique in Australian sport and inspires our players and coaches to produce such fantastic football - the fans truly power the action we see,” Gallop said.

“It's a tribute to all the fans that create the atmosphere. To those fans who “Power The Game”, we say thanks for making the show what it is - and bring all your energy to the games this season.

The opening round of the Hyundai A-League 2013/14 season offers fans some marquee games with a Grand Final replay between Central Coast Mariners and Western Sydney Wanderers as well as the first Melbourne Derby of the season.

The season kicks off with the Sydney FC v Newcastle Jets clash at Allianz Stadium on Friday night, which will be the first Hyundai A-League game to be broadcast live on free to air TV.

The Round one fixtures are: (AEST in brackets) Fri 11 October Sydney FC v Newcastle Jets Allianz Stadium 7.30pm (7.30pm)

Sat 12 October Central Coast Mariners v Western Sydney Wanderers Bluetongue Stadium 5.30pm (5.30pm) Melbourne Victory v Melbourne Heart Etihad Stadium 7.30pm (7.30pm)

Sunday 13 October Wellington Phoenix v Brisbane Roar Westpac Stadium 5.00pm (3.00pm) Adelaide United v Perth Glory Coopers Stadium 4.30pm (5.00pm)