FFA congratulates Sydney FC for winning back-to-back Hyundai A-League Premierships

Sydney FC has created Hyundai A-League history by being the first club to win back-to-back Hyundai A-League Premierships after defeating Perth Glory last night at nib Stadium in Perth.

The result means that the Sky Blues have an 11 point lead over their nearest rivals, the Newcastle Jets, who only have 3 matches remaining in the regular season.

In claiming the Hyundai A-League Premiership, Sydney FC have also guaranteed their place in the AFC Champions League 2019 competition.

Football Federation Australia (FFA) CEO David Gallop today congratulated the players, coaching staff and management of Sydney FC for their outstanding achievement.

“Sydney FC have once again shown that they are the dominant team of the Hyundai A-League,” said Gallop.

“To be the first club to win back-to-back Hyundai A-League Premierships is an historic achievement.

“Our congratulations goes to Sydney FC Head Coach Graham Arnold, his coaching staff, club captain Alex Brosque and all the players for their outstanding efforts throughout the season.

“We also recognise the owner of Sydney FC, David Traktovenko, chairman Scott Barlow, CEO Danny Townsend and the Sydney FC support staff for their efforts and contributions to help the club claim their third Hyundai A-League Premiers Plate.

“Now that Sydney FC have claimed the Hyundai A-League Premiership, I am sure that they will now focus on the upcoming Hyundai A-League 2018 Finals Series and a potential back-to-back Hyundai A-League Championship trophies,” concluded Gallop.

Following a request from Sydney FC, FFA has agreed to present the Hyundai A-League 2017/18 Premiers Plate to Sydney FC at the conclusion of their Round 27 match against the Melbourne Victory at Allianz Stadium on Friday 13 April.