Elimination Final preview: Brisbane Roar v Western United FC

The Hyundai A-League scriptwriters have done a superb job to pit two clubs that have already established a tasty rivalry in the second of the Elimination Finals.

Only one of Brisbane Roar or Western United FC will stay alive in the competition after Sunday’s clash at Bankwest Stadium, which kicks off at 6pm.

While finals match are almost always spicy encounters, this one promises to have even more given the fascinating sub-plots between the club.

The most significant surrounds Roar striker Scott McDonald, who started the campaign as one of United’s key players before defecting north to join the men in Orange.

It’s proved to be a move that has benefitted both parties, with McDonald shining for Warren Moon’s men, while United have been one of the form sides of the competition recently.

HOW TO WATCH: Hyundai A-League 2019/20 Finals Series

LFWWS final

Then there’s the Besart Berisha factor. The Hyundai A-League’s record goalscorer won two Championships in three seasons at Roar and was a favourite son, but will now be the one trying to knock them out of the running for 2019/20.

Throw in the silky skills of the likes of Jay O’Shea, Brad Inman, Alessandro Diamanti and Max Burgess and this is likely to be a Hyundai A-League Finals Series classic.

The two clubs have met twice this campaign, with one win apiece, both coming on their opposition’s home ground.

So who will prevail in this one? Can Roar do the job for interim boss Moon, or will United’s fairytale debut campaign continue?

Can’t wait to find out!

REVEALED: The Opta Index Hyundai A-League Team of the Season

WATCH: Roar prevailed on United territory earlier this season

Brisbane Roar v Western United FC

When: Sunday, August 23
Kick-off: 6pm AEST
Venue: Bankwest Stadium
Broadcast:  ABC ME (Channel 23) + iview, delayed broadcast at 8.25pm, FOX Sports 507
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports, ABC iView 

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @ALeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #BRIvWUN #ALeague

Scott McDonald
Former Western United striker Scott McDonald is set to be a key figure for Roar

Team news

Brisbane Roar squad: 1.Max CROCOMBE (gk), 2.Scott NEVILLE, 3.Corey BROWN, 4.Daniel BOWLES, 5.Tom ALDRED (c), 6.Macaulay GILLESPHEY, 7.Jai INGHAM, 8.Danny KIM, 10.Bradden INMAN, 12.Matthew RIDENTON, 19.Jack HINGERT, 20.Aaron AMADI-HOLLOWAY, 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk), 23.Dylan WENZEL-HALLS, 25.Rahmat AKBARI, 26.Jay O’SHEA, 27.Kai TREWIN, 29.Jordan COURTNEY-PERKINS, 30.Mirza MURATOVIC, 77.Scott MCDONALD
**2-4 to be omitted**

Ins: 10.Bradden INMAN (promoted), 25.Rahmat AKBARI (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 22.Jake McGING (knee)

Western United squad: 1.Filip KURTO (gk), 2.Aaron CALVER, 4.Andrew DURANTE, 5.Dylan PIERIAS, 6.Tomoki IMAI, 9.Apostolos STAMATELOPOULOS, 10.Steven LUSTICA, 11.Connor PAIN, 14.Max BURGESS, 15.Jonathan ASPROPOTAMITIS, 17.Joshua CAVALLO, 18.Besart BERISHA, 19.Joshua RISDON, 21.Sebastian PASQUALI, 22.Tomislav USKOK, 23.Alessandro DIAMANTI (c), 25.Luke DUZEL, 26.Patrick ANTELMI, 28.Oskar DILLON, 30.Ryan SCOTT (gk)
**2-4 to be omitted** 

Ins: 4.Andrew DURANTE (promoted), 10.Steven LUSTICA (promoted), 14.Max BURGESS(promoted), 15.Jonathan ASPROPOTAMITIS (promoted), 26.Patrick ANTELMI (promoted)

Outs: 7.Valentino YUEL (rested), 24. Thiel IRADUKUNDA (rested), 27.Jerry SKOTADIS (rested)

Unavailable: 3.Brendan HAMILL (knee - season), 13.Ivan VUJICA (groin - season), 20.James DELIANOV (GK) (knee - season)

AROUND THE GROUNDS: Elimination Finals special

Alessandro Diamanti
Alessandro Diamanti will be hoping to skipper Western United into the Semi Finals

Did you know?

  • Brisbane Roar have lost their last five Hyundai A-League Finals Series matches outside of Queensland.
  • Western United FC are playing in their first finals match. Two of the last three teams to play in a maiden final were victorious on the day.
  • Roar have scored 18 goals in the last 30 minutes of matches this season, no club has scored more.


Who will win Elimination Final 2?

Pick a winner
Brisbane Roar FC
Brisbane Roar FC
Western United FC
Western United FC

Who will win Elimination Final 2?

around the grounds