Dolan Warren Awards: who will take out the A-League's top honours?

Outstanding individual performers will be recognised for their contribution to the enthralling 2020/21 A-League campaign at the Dolan Warren Awards on Wednesday night.

The annual occasion offers the chance for players, coaches and referees to be commended for their brilliance displayed across the current campaign as the anticipation builds for the A-League Grand Final on Saturday, June 26.

The virtual awards night will take place from 7.30pm (AEST) on Wednesday night. Fans can watch the show via the A-League and Westfield W-League Facebook pages, My Football YouTube channel, and the My Football Live App on Wednesday evening, 23 June at 7:30pm (AEST).

The Dolan Warren awards will also be available to watch on Kayo Sports at the conclusion of the live show.


READ: It’s good to be nervous - Paul Reid’s Grand Final advice 21 years in the making
MORE: Kisnorbo hails City’s homegrown hero

Johnny Warren Medal

The Johnny Warren Medal will go to the most outstanding player of the season, with a number of classy midfielders putting their name in the hat to claim the prestigious A-League award on Wednesday night.

Western United's Alessandro Diamanti earned the honour last season and will contend for the top prize once again after another brilliant campaign. Wellington Phoenix midfielder Ulises Dávila's outstanding form took his side so close to a Finals Series berth, whilst Sydney FC's Miloš Ninković put on the type of performances all season long that we've come to expect from the star in Sky Blue.

Coach of the Year

There are a number of brilliant coaching stories to take out of the 2020/21 A-League campaign. Brisbane Roar's Warren Moon, Adelaide United's Carl Veart and Melbourne City's Patrick Kisnorbo all excelled in their first full season as an A-League head coach, guiding their respective sides to the Finals Series.

Kisnorbo won the Premiers Plate with City, and after booking a place in the Grand Final he could become an A-League Champion at the first time of asking - much like Steve Corica managed in his first campaign at the helm of Sydney FC three seasons ago. Fast-forward to 2020/21 and Corica has impressed again, taking the Sky Blues to meet City in the title decider on Saturday night as he searches for his third-consecutive Championship in his first three seasons as Sydney's leader.

Alen Stajcic oversaw a fairytale turnaround in Gosford as he took Central Coast Mariners from the wooden spoon to a third-place finish in his second season in charge. The feel-good factor returned to Central Coast throughout the 2020/21 campaign and Stajcic was the mastermind of it all - could he cap off his memorable season with Coach of the Year honours?

READ: “I think he’ll go close” - Corica reveals injured Sydney star could miss title decider

Young Footballer of the Year

Five players will contend for the title of Young Footballer of the Year this season after earning monthly nominations throughout the 2020/21 campaign. Melbourne City loanee Ramy Najjarine earned the January nod for his bright start to life as a Newcastle Jets player, Mariners forward Alou Kuol sealed his nomination in February and Nathaniel Atkinson starred for City through March to put his name in contention.

Phoenix forward Ben Waine was selected as April's candidate after scoring four goals in four games for Wellington Phoenix, and Joel King excelled at left-back for Sydney FC through May/June to clinch the final nomination for this year's award.

Young Footballer of the Year: Nominees | A-League

Goalkeeper of theYear

The A-League was blessed by the presence of a number of brilliant shot-stoppers throughout the 2020/21 season. Wellington's Oliver Sail and Western United's Ryan Scott were the feel-good stories of the campaign, surprising many by making the number one spot ahead of experienced custodians at their respective clubs.

Adam Federici was one of Macarthur FC's standout performers in the club's first A-League campaign - as was Mark Birighitti as the Mariners made their resurgence. Sydney FC's Andrew Redmayne was another goalkeeper offering safe hands for his side as they embarked on a familiar title tilt.

Goal of the Year

Long-range bombs, audacious chips, volleys and everything in between: the 2020/21 A-League season featured goals of every nature which made jaws drop and crowds cheer.

Perth Glory's Callum Timmins and Wellington midfielder Cameron Devlin scored screamers from range to put their name in contention for Goal of the Season, as did Glory striker Andy Keogh who lobbed Western Sydney's Daniel Margush from just beyond the centre circle in one of the more audacious strikes attempted in A-League history.

Andrew Nabbout will be considered for his Melbourne Derby stunner, as will Ben Halloran for his inventive volley for Adelaide United against Macarthur FC, and a number of other players who made their mark with sensational strikes throughout the season.

GOAL: Did he mean it? Nabbout scores a stunner in the Melbourne Derby

Golden Boot

The Golden Boot for 2020/21 will land in the hands of City star Jamie Maclaren after his 25-goal haul in the 2020/21 campaign.

Maclaren finished 11 goals ahead of Matt Derbyshire in second (14) as he dominated defences league-wide to send City on their way to the Premiers Plate. The Socceroos spearhead will receive the Golden Boot for the third time, making it two on the trot after his 22-goal haul in 2019/20.

Jamie Maclaren