On this day: Sydney FC beat Melbourne Victory in dramatic Hyundai A-League 2010 Grand Final

Nine years ago today, Sydney FC created Hyundai A-League history when they became the first team to win a Grand Final interstate over Melbourne Victory.

It was also the first decider to go down to a penalty shootout with scores locked at 1-1 after a dramatic and tense 120 minutes at Docklands Stadium.

Mark Bridge silenced the majority of the 44,560-strong crowd in Melbourne when he gave the Sky Blues the lead just after the hour-mark, striking home from a swift counter attack.

WATCH FOR FREE: How to watch the Hyundai A-League LIVE and FREE
SIGNING NEWS: Who are Western United FC's three young Aussies?
WATCH: What it's like to referee a Hyundai A-League game

But Victory were not done and drew level nine minutes from time through Adrian Leijer's towering header.

With no further goals in extra time, a shootout was required to decide the 2009/10 Champions and it was Victory who blinked first as Kevin Muscat’s penalty cannoned back off the post.

Shannon Cole was the only player to miss for Sydney FC, with Korean left-back Byun Sung-Hwan smashing home the winning spot-kick to send the Sky Blues and their fans into raptures.

Check out all the highlights from the Hyundai A-League 2010 Grand Final in the player at the top of the page.

Byun Sung-hwan
Sydney FC defender Sung-Hwan Byun