Broich wins it again

Brisbane Roar's Thomas Broich created history tonight by becoming the first player to win the Johnny Warren Player of the Year Medal for a second time.

Thomas Broich from Brisbane Roar created history tonight by becoming the first player to win the Johnny Warren Medal, the Hyundai A-League-s Players- Player Award, for a second time.

Broich was acclaimed at the gala Hyundai A-League & Westfield W-League 2013/14 Awards night which was held in the Ballroom at Royal Randwick Racecourse in Sydney.

On a glittering night for the Roar, Tameka Butt doubled the delight by taking out the Westfield W-League-s highest honour, the Julie Dolan Medal, and Brandon Borrello completed Brisbane Roar-s hat-trick of the top awards by claiming the Foxtel National Youth League Player of the Year Award.

Newcastle Jets striker Adam Taggart picked up a double himself claiming the NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award and the Nike Golden Boot Award as the top goal scorer for the Hyundai A-League 2013/14 season. Taggart saw off stiff competition for the NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award from Trent Sainsbury (Central Coast Mariners), Storm Roux (Central Coast Mariners), Dimitri Petratos (Brisbane Roar), Josh Brillante (Newcastle Jets) and Terry Antonis (Sydney FC). In picking up the NAB Young Footballer of the Year Award he also received a $10,000 NAB personal investment portfolio, along with a NAB Private Client Manager to assist with a range of banking and financial services.

Melbourne Victory-s Welsh International, Jessica Fishlock, picked up the Westfield W-League-s Players- Player of the Year Award, which she added to her Most Valuable Player of the Westfield W-League 2014 Grand Final Award. Jess- Melbourne Victory teammate and captain, Stephanie Catley, won the Westfield W-League Young Player of the Year Award for the second year in a row.

Adelaide United-s Eugene Galekovic collected the Hyundai A-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award for the third time and his Adelaide United colleague in the Westfield W-League, Melissa Barbieri, received the Westfield W-League Goalkeeper of the Year Award for the second time.

Sydney FC-s Jodie Taylor was the Westfield W-League 2013/14 Golden Boot winner courtesy of her 10 goals throughout the season.

Brisbane Roar Head Coach Mike Mulvey picked up the Hyundai A-League Coach of the Year Award after guiding his team to win the Hyundai A-League 2013/14 Premiers- Plate with three rounds of the season remaining. Alen Stajcic was named the Westfield W-League Coach of the Year for the second time following his season with Sydney FC.

Melbourne Heart midfielder Orlando Engelaar received the Hyundai A-League the Goal of the Year Award for his Round 24 long range effort against the Central Coast Mariners. Sally Shipard from Canberra United scored the Westfield W-League Goal of the Year for her strike against the Newcastle Jets in Round 11.

Brisbane Roar picked up their fifth Hyundai A-League Fair Play Award for accruing the least number of yellow and red card points (54 points). It-s the Roar-s fourth consecutive win. There was a three-way tie between Brisbane Roar, Melbourne Victory and the Newcastle Jets for the Westfield W-League Fair Play Award (10 points) with Melbourne Victory winning the Foxtel National Youth League Fair Play Award (20 points).

Peter Green received the Hyundai A-League Referee of the Year award for the second time whilst Casey Reibelt from Brisbane was named the Westfield W-League-s Referee of the Year.


Hyundai A-League 2013/14 Awards

Johnny Warren Medal (Player of the Year) Thomas Broich - Brisbane Roar NAB Young Footballer of the Year Adam Taggart - Newcastle Jets Goalkeeper of the Year Eugene Galekovic - Adelaide United Nike Golden Boot Award Adam Taggart - Newcastle Jets (16 Goals) Goal of the Year Orlando Engelaar (for Melbourne Heart, R.24 v Central Coast) Coach of the Year Mike Mulvey (Brisbane Roar) Fair Play Award Brisbane Roar Referee of the Year Peter Green

Westfield W-League 2013/14 Awards

Julie Dolan Medal (Player of the Year ) Tameka Butt (Brisbane Roar) Young Player of the Year Stephanie Catley (Melbourne Victory) Player's Player of the Year Jessica Fishlock (Melbourne Victory) Golden Glove (Goalkeeper of the Year) Melissa Barbieri (Adelaide United) Golden Boot (Top Goal Scorer Award) Jodie Taylor (Sydney FC) 10 goals Goal of the Year Sally Shipard (for Canberra United, round 11 v Newcastle Jets) Coach of the Year Alen Stajcic (Sydney FC) Fair Play Award Brisbane Roar, Melbourne Victory, Newcastle Jets FC Referee of the Year Casey Reibelt

Foxtel National Youth League 2013/14 Awards

Player of the Year Brandon Borrello (Brisbane Roar) Golden Boot (Top Goal Scorer Award) Anthony Costa (Adelaide United) 14 Goals* Fair Play Award Melbourne Victory