Brisbane Roar v Perth Glory: match preview

Brisbane Roar’s sensational run of form in the Hyundai A-League will get a stern examination when Premiers Perth Glory come to Dolphin Stadium in Redcliffe on Saturday.

Roar have surged into the top six on the back of just one defeat in their last eight matches, including a 1-0 win over Western United FC on Sunday.

Robbie Fowler’s side appear to be getting stronger every week and have opened up a four-point buffer to the chasing pack for the top six.

But Tony Popovic’s Glory have been in even better form than Roar, unbeaten in nine games with their last defeat coming way back in November.

Glory will leapfrog Melbourne City into second spot on the ladder if they avoid defeat, although they have had to contend with a gruelling trip back from Japan after their AFC Champions League loss to FC Tokyo on Tuesday night.

Roar’s last game in Redcliffe saw them prevail 4-3 so let’s hope it’s raining goals again in this one.

Watch Live and Free

Click here to buy tickets

Saturday, 22 February 2020
Kick-off: 4pm local, 5pm AEDT
Venue: Dolphin Stadium, Redcliffe
Broadcast: FOX Sports 505, ABC TV
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports, ABC iView 

HOW TO WATCH: Every Hyundai A-League match in Round 20
BEST XI: Hyundai A-League Team of the Week - Round 19

Where Heroes are Made

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @ALeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #BRIvPER #ALeague 

How to Watch A-League

Team news

Brisbane Roar FC squad: 1.Max CROCOMBE (gk), 2.Scott NEVILLE, 3.Corey BROWN, 4.Daniel BOWLES, 5.Tom ALDRED (c), 6.Macaulay GILLESPHEY, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 10.Bradden INMAN, 12.Aiden O’NEILL, 15.Aaron REARDON, 19.Jack HINGERT, 20.Aaron AMADI-HOLLOWAY, 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk), 22.Jake MCGING, 23.Dylan WENZEL-HALLS, 25.Rahmat AKBARI, 26.Jay O’SHEA, 27.Kai TREWIN, 30.Mirza MURATOVIC, 77.Scott MCDONALD

** 2-4 to be omitted **

Ins: 15.Aaron REARDON (promoted), 27.Kai TREWIN (promoted), 77.Scott MCDONALD (promoted)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: 28.Izaack POWELL (international duty), 29.Jordan COURTNEY-PERKINS (knee – TBC)

Perth Glory squad: 1.Tando VELAPHI (gk), 2.Alex GRANT, 3.Jacob TRATT, 4.Gregory WUTHRICH, 5.Ivan FRANJIC, 7.Joel CHIANESE, 8.James MEREDITH, 9.Bruno FORNAROLI, 12.Kim SOO-BEOM, 13.Osama MALIK, 16.Tomislav MRCELA, 17.Diego CASTRO (c), 18.Nicholas D’AGOSTINO, 20.Jake BRIMMER, 21.Tarek ELRICH, 22.Vince LIA, 28.Gabriel POPOVIC, 29.Kristian POPOVIC, 33.Liam REDDY (gk), 88.Neil KILKENNY

**2-4 to be omitted**

Ins: 3.Jacob TRATT (promoted), 13.Osama MALIK (promoted), 17.Diego CASTRO (c) (returns from injury)
Outs: 23.Dane INGHAM (omitted)
Unavailable: 6.Dino DJULBIC (ankle – indefinite), 19.Chris IKONOMIDIS (knee – season), 27.JUANDE (groin – 1 week)

Did you know?

  • Perth Glory are undefeated in their last four Hyundai A-League games against Brisbane Roar FC (W3, D1), scoring an average of three goals per game in that span.
  • The only previous A-League game at Dolphin Stadium in Redcliffe saw the Brisbane Roar triumph over Melbourne City FC 4-3. It was only the second game in Hyundai A-League history to see multiple players score a hat-trick (Roy O’Donovan, Jamie Maclaren).
  • Glory are the only team to remain undefeated when scoring the first goal of the game (W8, D1) and winless when they’ve conceded the first goal of the game (D3, L3) this Hyundai A-League campaign.
  • Brisbane Roar have conceded just one penalty so far this Hyundai A-League campaign; only Western United FC (0) have conceded fewer.
  • Glory’s Bruno Fornaroli has landed 27 shots on target this campaign, more than any other player. However, he’s scored only one Hyundai A-League goal against the Brisbane Roar, his equal-lowest tally against any team he’s faced more than once.

Round 20: Roar v Glory

Pick a winner
Brisbane Roar FC
Brisbane Roar FC
Perth Glory
Perth Glory

Round 20: Roar v Glory

McDonalds Mini Matches