Brisbane Roar v Melbourne City: match preview

Brisbane Roar will attempt to string back to back Hyundai A-League victories for the first time under Robbie Fowler when Melbourne City come calling on Saturday evening.

Brisbane re-ignited their Finals Series ambitions with a priceless 2-1 away victory against Western Sydney Wanderers in Round 13 and could move within striking distance of the top six should they emerge victorious over City.

City snapped a two-match winless run by accounting for Western United 3-2 in Round 13 and remain nine point behind leaders Sydney FC. Erick Mombaerts is looking for more consistency from his charges, who need a victory to bolster their title credentials.

They will certainly need to avoid a repeat of their last away outing in Brisbane, which saw City squander a comfortable lead twice before going down 4-3 to Roar in one of the games of the 2019/20 campaign so far. 

Click here to buy tickets

Saturday, 11 January 2020
Kick-off: 4pm local, 5pm AEDT
Venue: Suncorp Stadium
Broadcast: ABC TV, FOX Sports 505
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports, ABC iView 

HOW TO WATCH: All the action in Round 14
ROUND 13: Team of the Week

Watch Hyundai A-League Live and Free on ABC and iView

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

Brisbane Roar

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @ALeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #BRIvMCY #ALeague 

Team news

Brisbane Roar FC squad: 1.Max CROCOMBE (gk), 2.Scott NEVILLE, 4.Daniel BOWLES, 5.Tom ALDRED (c), 6.Macaulay GILLESPHEY, 8.Jacob PEPPER, 9.Roy O’DONOVAN, 10.Bradden INMAN, 13.Stefan MAUK, 14.George MELLS, 15.Aaron REARDON, 19.Jack HINGERT, 20.Aaron AMADI-HOLLOWAY, 21.Jamie YOUNG (gk), 22.Jake MCGING, 23.Dylan WENZEL-HALLS, 25.Rahmat AKBARI, 26.Jay O’SHEA, 28.Izaack POWELL, 30.Mirza MURATOVIC **2-4 to be omitted**

Ins: 14.George MELLS (promoted), 15.Aaron REARDON (promoted), 25.Rahmat AKBARI (promoted)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: 12.Aiden O’NEILL (international duty), 24.Connor O’TOOLE (international duty), 29.Jordan COURTNEY-PERKINS (knee – TBC)

Melbourne City FC squad: 2.Scott GALLOWAY, 3.Scott JAMIESON (c), 6.Josh BRILLANTE, 7.Rostyn GRIFFITHS, 8.Javier CABRERA, 9.Jamie MACLAREN, 10.Florin BERENGUER 11.Craig NOONE, 13.Nathaniel ATKINSON, 19.Lachlan WALES, 20.Adrian LUNA, 22.Curtis GOOD, 23.Dean BOUZANIS (gk), 30.Moudi NAJJAR, 36.Kerrin STOKES, 38.Yaya DUKULY 35.Raphael BORGES RODRIGUES, 40.Richard WINDBICHLER, 46.Joe GAUCI (gk), 49.Stefan COLAKOVSKI **2-3 to be omitted**

Ins: 35.Raphael BORGES RODRIGUES (promoted), 36.Kerrin STOKES (promoted), 38.Yaya DUKULY (promoted)
Outs: 4.Harrison DELBRIDGE (suspended)
Unavailable: 1.Tom GLOVER (gk) (international duty),17.Denis GENREAU (international duty), 21.Ramy NAJJARINE (international duty), 34.Connor METCALFE (international duty)

How to Watch A-League

Did you know?

  • Seven of the last eight Hyundai A-League games between the Brisbane Roar and Melbourne City have been won by the home team on the day.
  • Roar have scored at least one goal in every one of their previous 15 Hyundai A-League games against Melbourne City in Queensland, scoring an average of 2.1 goals per game in that period.
  • There have been 19 total goals scored in Melbourne City’s last four Hyundai A-League games outside Victoria; City outscoring their opposition 11-8 in that period.
  • Roar have had 56.6% of possession so far this Hyundai A-League campaign, the most of any team in the competition.
  • City’s Jamie Maclaren has scored 20 goals in 27 Hyundai A-League games at Suncorp Stadium, twice as many as he’s scored at any other venue and the third most of any player at the venue (Besart Berisha 35, Henrique 24).

Round 14: Roar v City

Pick a winner
Brisbane Roar FC
Brisbane Roar FC
Melbourne City FC
Melbourne City FC

Round 14: Roar v City