Sydney FC retain 13 as they look forward to title defence

Hyundai A-League champions Sydney FC are likely to have a very new look next season, with the club so far retaining just 13 of their title-winning squad.

Among the Sky Blues’ biggest names not to have secured a new deal for next season as of yet are international stars Siem de Jong and Reza Ghoochannejhad – whose loan deals have ended – as well as midfielder Josh Brillante, who remains in talks with the club regarding his future.

Midfielders Anthony Caceres and Daniel De Silva have also come to the end of their loan contracts, although the Sky Blues are hopeful of retaining the young duo.



Other players to leave the Sky Blues include skipper Alex Brosque (retired) and defender Aaron Calver (signed with Western United), as well as Jop van der Linden, Alex Cisak and Mitch Austin (all released).

Jacob Tratt and Cameron Devlin – like Brillante – are currently without new deals, but the club will continue talks with the trio regarding their futures.

While as many as a dozen players may have played their last games for the club, 13 players remain contracted for Sydney FC’s title defence in 2019/20.

WINNERS: Who took out honours at your club’s end of season awards night?
2019/20: Five things you need to know about next season

Grand Final hero Andrew Redmayne, experienced defenders Rhyan Grant, Michael Zullo and Alex Wilkinson, and stars like Brandon O’Neill, Milos Ninkovic and Adam Le Fondre remain contracted to the club.

“We’ve got a very strong core of players already locked in for next season and I am confident of more success,” coach Steve Corica said.

“We have retained a large proportion of our Championship winning team and I expect to recruit a number of exciting new players to add to that core.

Sky Blues boss Steve Corica with the fans after a dream rookie season as head coach
Steve Corica will look to add to his championship-winning squad over the off-season

“We have a few weeks to digest this season and we will take our time with recruitment, but I am excited by what is ahead.

“I’d like to thank all of the players leaving the club this year. We have had a very successful season and they have all played their part in that.

WHO'S THE BEST: Vote for your Hyundai A-League Player of the Season
NEWCOMERS: Three uncapped Hyundai A-League players in Arnold's squad

“I wish them all the best for their future careers.”

Sydney FC are set to return for the start of their pre-season training in early July.

Contracted players to Sydney FC for 2019/20

Andrew Redmayne, Ben Warland, Alex Wilkinson, Michael Zullo, Paulo Retre, Adam Le Fondre, Milos Ninkovic, Trent Buhagiar, Brandon O’Neill, Rhyan Grant, Joel King, Tom Heward-Belle, Luke Ivanovic

Get Onside Limitless banner