Bautheac one of 14 Brisbane departures as Fowler's Roar rebuild begins

Robbie Fowler's overhaul of Brisbane Roar has officially begun, with the club confirming 14 players are leaving the Queensland capital.

Liverpool legend and new Roar boss Fowler was in the stands as Brisbane concluded a miserable Hyundai A-League campaign with a 5-3 defeat to Adelaide United last Thursday.

That loss – Roar's 17th of the season – was billed as a chance to say goodbye to departing club legends Matt McKay and Henrique, while Thomas Kristensen had his exit confirmed on the weekend.

WATCH FOR FREE: How to watch the Hyundai A-League LIVE and FREE

Hyundai A-League 2019 Finals Series Thin Banner Generic


Ex-Caltex Socceroo Brett Holman and veteran centre back Luke DeVere are on the way out too, as revealed at the club's gala night on Sunday.

Eric Bautheac – named player's player of the season at Roar's gala night – is also heading for the exit door. 

The former Ligue 1 attacker scored seven goals in 24 matches for Brisbane this season.

Eli Babalj, Joe CalettiCharles Lokoli-Ngoy, Alex Lopez, Tobias Mikkelsen, Stefan Nigro, Brendan White and Ruon Tongyik are the other confirmed departures.

BEST XI: Who made our final Team of the Week of the regular season?
LIVE BLOG: All the news and big stories ahead of this weekend's Elimination Finals 

Eric Bautheac is leaving Brisbane Roar after two seasons