Barbarouses announced as #FoxFansLeague wildcard

Melbourne Victory star Kosta Barbarouses has been announced as a 'wildcard' entry for the inaugural #FoxFansLeague finals to be held next week.

"It's great to be involved in this fun initiative which I hope will draw more attention to the Hyundai A-League and Melbourne Victory on the eve of the finals and maybe even encourage young kids to start playing football," Barbarouses said. 

"I jumped at the chance to take part to see if my code of football was superior to the AFL & NRL but only time will tell."

In a joint initiative, Football Federation Australia has teamed up with Fox Sports, EA Sports, PlayStation®4 and Westfield in the search to find Australia’s console champion.

Nationwide heats have been run and won at Westfield Shopping Centres where fans have been representing their Hyundai A-League clubs.

And some of the nation’s best FIFA players have won through to the final which will be broadcast live on Fox Sports 505 on Wednesday 29 April from 7.30pm.

Winners of heats from around the country representing the Hyundai A-League clubs are:

Vasilos Katsaitis – Melbourne City, Neville Ackermann – Melbourne Victory, Michael Gunn – Western Sydney Wanderers FC, Shannon Rauoul – Newcastle Jets, Jake Nadilo – Central Coast Mariners, Julian Mangraviti – Sydney FC, Seth Naicker – Brisbane Roar, Joel Andruskzkiewicz – Adelaide United, Griffin Munro – Perth Glory

There will also be ‘Wildcard players’ on the day, including Collingwood Football Club skipper Scott Pendlebury, Penrith Panthers five-eighth Jamie Soward, Channel V’s Danny Clayton, Gold Coast Suns Captain Gary Ablett and Australian EA SPORTS FIFA identity Sam Mort.