Adelaide United v Perth Glory: match preview

Perth Glory will continue their hunt of a top-two finish when they face Adelaide United at Bankwest Stadium in Thursday night football.

A win over the Reds will send Tony Popovic's side one point behind fourth-placed Brisbane Roar and within three points of Melbourne City and Wellington Phoenix, in third and second place on the Hyundai A-League table respectively, with three games to play.

But Adelaide's recent form under interim Head Coach Carl Veart suggests it won't be an easy night for Perth in Parramatta. 

At the resumption of the season Adelaide snapped their four-game losing streak with a win over Brisbane Roar, and consolidated that positive result with a draw with Wellington Phoenix on Saturday night.

Norwegian striker Kristian Opseth has impressed for the Reds of late, scoring both his side's two goals since the restart, and will be hoping to find his fifth goal of the 2019/20 campaign when his side face Perth on Thursday night. 

Despite their recent positive outings the Reds can't afford to rest on their laurels with Western United breathing down their necks for a top-six finish; Adelaide currently hold a one-point advantage over Western who have two games in hand on Veart's side and a superior goal difference.

But a win over Perth will send Adelaide level on points with last season's Premiers and within three points of Brisbane in fourth, to ensure their fight for a Finals Series place goes right down to the wire.

AROUND THE GROUNDS: Thomas departs Victory for Europe, the key to Burgess’ goal-scoring form
NEWS: Burgess believes mindfulness is key to unearthing his talents

updated banner

Thursday, July 30 2020
Kick-off: 7.30pm AEST
Venue: Bankwest Stadium
Broadcast: FOX Sports 507
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

Kristian Opseth
Kristian Opseth will be gunning for three goals in as many games when the Reds face Perth

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @ALeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #ADEvPER #ALeague

Team news

Adelaide United squad: 2.Michael MARRONE, 4.Ryan STRAIN, 6.Stefan MAUK, 7.Ryan KITTO, 8.Riley McGREE, 11.Kristian OPSETH, 14.George BLACKWOOD, 18.Lachlan BROOK, 20.Paul IZZO (gk), 22.Michael JAKOBSEN (c), 23.Jordan ELSEY, 24.Pacifique NIYONGABIRE, 26.Ben HALLORAN, 27.Louis D’ARRIGO, 34.Yared ABETEW, 36.Noah SMITH, 40.Dakota OCHSENHAM (gk), 41.Jackson WALLS, 42.Taras GOMULKA, 49.Mohamed TOURE

**2-4 to be omitted**

Ins: 34.Yared Abetew (promoted), 41.Jackson WALLS (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 10.James TROISI (knee), 16.Nathan KONSTANDOPOULOS (knee - season), 17.Nikola MILEUSNIĆ (foot), 29.Kusini YENGI (pelvis), 35.Al Hassan TOURE (hamstring)

Perth Glory squad: 2.Alex GRANT, 3.Jacob TRATT, 5.Ivan FRANJIC, 7.Joel CHIANESE, 8.James MEREDITH, 9.Bruno FORNAROLI, 13.Osama MALIK, 16.Tomislav MRCELA, 18.Nick D'AGOSTINO, 20.Jake BRIMMER, 21.Tarek ELRICH, 22.Vince LIA, 23.Dane INGHAM, 25.Carlo ARMIENTO, 27.JUANDE, 28.Gabriel POPOVIC, 29.Kristian POPOVIC, 33.Liam REDDY (gk), 50.Daniel MARGUSH (gk), 88.Neil KILKENNY (C)

**2-4 omitted**

Ins: 21.Tarek ELRICH (promoted), 25.Carlo ARMIENTO (promoted)

Outs: None

Unavailable: None

REPORT: Sydney FC clinch Premiers Plate as Phoenix are denied by Adelaide
REACTION: Kuol leaves lasting impression after F3 Derby stalemate

Perth Glory
A win for Perth will keep their top-two dreams alive

Did you know?

  • Perth Glory are undefeated in their last four regular season games against Adelaide in the Hyundai A-League (W3, D2), having not conceded a single goal against them in that period.
  • Perth Glory are the only team against whom Riley McGree has played more than five Hyundai A-League games and never scored against. 
  • Perth are yet to score multiple goals in a league game outside of Western Australia in 2020; although, they have managed two wins and three draws from seven fixtures outside their home state thus far. 


Adelaide United v Perth Glory

Pick a winner
Adelaide United
Adelaide United
Perth Glory
Perth Glory

Adelaide United v Perth Glory