Adelaide United v Melbourne Victory: match preview

Marco Kurz is set for a hot reception at Coopers Stadium as he brings his Melbourne Victory to the City of Churches for a clash with former club Adelaide United.

The German coach was much-loved in Adelaide for his successful two-year stint with the Reds – which included an FFA Cup win – but comes to town wearing Navy Blue this time.

And the three points are vital for Kurz for more than just getting one over his former employers, with Victory recording just one win from their first six games.

After Sunday’s 2-1 loss to Sydney FC in the Big Blue, Victory will at least be boosted by the return of some of their international stars for this Original Rivalry contest.

The Reds are flying at the moment on the back of three straight wins in the Hyundai A-League.

They came from behind to beat Central Coast Mariners 3-1 in their last outing, with attacking stars Ben Halloran, Nikola Mileusnic and Kristian Opseth all getting on the scoresheet.

Click here to buy tickets

Saturday, November 23 2019
Kick-off: 7pm local, 7.30pm AEDT 
Venue: Coopers Stadium
Broadcast: FOX Sports 505 and ABC TVBroadcast: FOX Sports 505
Stream: MyFootball Live App, Kayo Sports

HOW TO WATCH: Every match in Round 7 of the Hyundai A-League

Watch Hyundai A-League Live and Free on ABC and iView

Ways to watch

Download the MyFootball Live App now
Sign up for Kayo Sports
Get Foxtel

How to follow the action

Match centre: Live updates, videos and statistics

Follow @ALeague on Twitter and join the conversation using #ADLv#MVC #ALeague 


Team news

Adelaide United squad: 2.Michael MARRONE, 4.Ryan STRAIN, 5.Michaël MARIA, 6.Vince LIA, 7.Ryan KITTO, 8.Riley McGREE, 10.James TROISI, 11.Kristian OPSETH, 14.George BLACKWOOD, 16.Nathan KONSTANDOPOULOS, 17.Nikola MILEUSNIĆ, 18.Lachlan BROOK, 20.Paul IZZO (gk), 22.Michael JAKOBSEN (c), 23.Jordan ELSEY, 26.Ben HALLORAN, 27.Louis D’ARRIGO, 30.Isaac RICHARDS (gk), 35.Al Hassan TOURE **2-3 to be omitted**

Ins: 18.Lachlan BROOK (promoted), 35.Al Hassan TOURE (returns from international duty)
Outs: Nil
Unavailable: 31.Mirko BOLAND (knee), 36.Noah SMITH (foot)

Melbourne Victory squad: 2.Storm ROUX, 3.Corey BROWN, 4.James DONACHIE, 6.Leigh BROXHAM, 7.Kenny ATHIU, 8.Jakob POULSEN, 9.Andrew NABBOUT, 10.Robbie KRUSE, 11.Ola TOIVONEN (c), 14.Thomas DENG, 16.Josh HOPE, 17.Elvis KAMSOBA, 18.Migjen BASHA, 19.Ben CARRIGAN, 20.Lawrence THOMAS (gk), 21.Adama TRAORE, 22.Kristijan DOBRAS, 24.Anthony LESIOTIS, 25.Brandon LAUTON, 50.Brendan WHITE (gk) **2-4 to be omitted**

 Ins: 2.Storm ROUX (returns from international duty), 7.Kenny ATHIU (returns from international duty), 9.Andrew NABBOUT (returns from injury), 14.Thomas DENG (returns from international duty), 17.Elvis KAMSOBA (returns from international duty)
Outs: 13.Birkan KIRDAR (omitted), 26.Jay BARNETT (omitted), 30.Matthew SUTTON (omitted)
Unavailable: 1.Matt ACTON (shoulder), 5.Tim HOOGLAND (quad)

Where heroes are made

Did you know?

  • Adelaide United have won three straight games in the Hyundai A-League. The last time they won more in succession was a five-game streak from March to May in 2016.
  • Should Victory skipper Ola Toivonen score in this match it would be his 20th goal in 29 Hyundai A-League appearances. Only one player (Bruno Fornaroli in 22 games) has reached that mark quicker.
  • Victory boss Marco Kurz returns to Adelaide for the first time having won six of his last eight games as a coach in South Australia (L2).

Round 7: Adelaide United v Melbourne Victory

Pick a winner
Adelaide United
Adelaide United
Melbourne Victory
Melbourne Victory

Thanks for your vote