ACL draw: Hyundai A-League clubs learn their opponents

Sydney FC and Melbourne have learned their opponents for the 2018 AFC Champions League after the draw was conducted in Malaysia on Wednesday night (AEDT).

The Sky Blues and Victory both qualified for next year’s tournament as a result of having finished in the top two last season.

Sydney FC were drawn in Group H alongside Shanghai Shenhua (China), Kashima Antlers and the winner of Playoff 1 (East).

Melbourne Victory were drawn in Group F with Kawasaki Frontale (Japan), Ulsan Hyundai (Korea) and the winner of Playoff 3 (East).

Brisbane Roar could also join Sydney and Victory in the group stage, should they come through two playoff matches.

Brisbane will host either Myanmar's Shan United or the Philippines Football League champion on Tuesday, 23 January 2018.

Should Brisbane progress, a final qualifying match will take place away against Tianjin Quanjian, who finished third in the 2017 Chinese Super League, on Tuesday, 30 January 2018.