Wanderers v Roar: a history of blockbuster clashes

The Hyundai A-League Finals Series has come two weeks early for Western Sydney Wanderers and Brisbane Roar.

The two sides will meet in a huge clash at ANZ Stadium on Saturday in what is shaping as a winner-takes-all battle for the final spot in the top six.

John Aloisi’s men currently hold the upper-hand, sitting in sixth spot with a two-point buffer to the Wanderers.

They also seem to be hitting form at just the right time, winning six of their last nine matches in the Hyundai A-League.

But despite going winless in their last three games, the Wanderers know a win in front of their home fans will strengthen their claims for a finals berth.


These two clubs are no stranger to blockbuster match-ups.

In fact, on each of the four occasions that the Wanderers have made the Hyundai A-League Finals Series, they’ve faced-off against the Roar.

In the 2012/13 Season, the Wanderers’ inaugural campaign in the Hyundai A-League, it was Brisbane that Tony Popovic’s men defeated 2-0 at Parramatta Stadium to book their ticket to the Grand Final.

A season later and it would be revenge for the Roar, prevailing 2-1 after extra-time in an epic decider at Suncorp Stadium.

Perhaps the most famous finals clash between the clubs cam in the 2015/16 Season, in one of the greatest matches in Hyundai A-League history.

Despite trailing 3-0 inside 26 minutes, the Wanderers stormed home to win 5-4 after extra-time thanks to Dario Vidosic’s winner.


And then last season it was Roar’s turn again to have bragging rights, ending the Wanderers’ season in a thrilling penalty shootout in the Elimination Final.

While Saturday may not be a finals match, it certainly has that kind of feeling to it.

The two sides have enjoyed one win apiece over each other in 2017/18, indicating there is very little between them.

With so much at stake, get ready for a sensational 90-minutes of nerves, drama and entertainment in Sydney’s west!