2019 AFC Champions League group stage determined for Sydney FC and Melbourne Victory

Hyundai A-League clubs Sydney FC and Melbourne Victory have had their group stage opponents for the 2019 AFC Champions League determined after the final round of play-offs concluded overnight.

The Sky Blues will take on Chinese Super League winners Shanghai SIPG, J-League champions Kawasaki Frontale and Ulsan Hyundai in Group H, after the K-League outfit beat Malaysian side Perak FA 5-1 in Tuesday's play-off.

Meanwhile in Group F, Melbourne Victory face Chinese giants Guangzhou Evergrande, 2018 Korean FA Cup winners Daegu FC and Besart Berisha's Sanfrecce Hiroshima following their penalty shoot-out win over Thai club Chiangrai United in their play-off fixture.

However, Berisha won't face his former club Victory as he wasn't included in Hiroshima's AFC Asian Champions League squad.

The 2017/18 Hyundai A-League Grand Finalists, Newcastle Jets, were eliminated in a 4-1 defeat against Kashima Antlers in another play-off fixture on Tuesday evening.

Matchday one of the group stage gets underway on Tuesday, March 5 with Victory hosting Daegu at 7.30pm (AEDT).

Sydney FC get their campaign up and running at home to Ulsan on Wednesday, March 6 with kick off at 8.00pm (AEDT).