Western Sydney Wanderers FC
Perth Glory
Hyundai A-League R13
ANZ Stadium

Wanderers, Glory in tight draw at ANZ

Western Sydney Wanderers have drawn again racking up their eighth such result after a 1-1 against Perth Glory at a rainy ANZ Stadium on Sunday night.

Glory striker Adam Taggart reminded us all of his undoubted talent with a superbly taken first half goal to give the visitors the lead at the break.

But with Wanderers pressing in the second half, substitute Jaushua Sotirio who had only just got on the park, showed striker’s instincts to coolly finish past Glory keeper Liam Reddy.

The reply set up a grandstand finish in front of just over 12,000 fans at a wet ANZ as both sides pushed for a winner. 

But Wanderers lacked enough of a cutting edge up front to seriously trouble Glory. 

However Perth could've claimed all three points after some Diego Castro magic in the final minutes, but with the ball falling to Rostyn Griffiths but he was unable to find a way past Jerrad Tyson. 

Catch up with all the match action in the match centre


0-1  Glory, Adam Taggart 16’

Superb interplay on the right wing saw Chris Harold set Taggart away and he drove into the box and with Castro free the Caltex Socceroo went for the near post and beat Tyson in goal to open the scoring.  

1-1  Wanderers, Jaushua Sotirio 66’

Perth’s high line was sprung by Sotirio and the sub sprinted to the box and coolly slotted under Liam Reddy to make it 1-1.

Re-live the match action on Twitter

@ALeague, @wswanderersfc, @PerthGloryFC #WSWvPER

Related news

Hyundai A-League 2018/19
# Club P W D L PTS
Perth Glory 22 15 6 1 51
Sydney FC 22 13 3 6 42
Melbourne Victory 22 12 5 5 41
Wellington Phoenix 22 9 7 6 34
Melbourne City FC 22 9 6 7 33
Adelaide United 22 8 7 7 31
Newcastle Jets 22 7 5 10 26
Western Sydney Wanderers FC 22 5 5 12 20
Brisbane Roar FC 22 3 6 13 15
Central Coast Mariners 22 2 4 16 10