Wellington Phoenix
Perth Glory
Hyundai A-League R6
Westpac Stadium

Phoenix down Glory in seven-goal thriller

Wellington Phoenix have secured their first win of the Hyundai A-League season following an entertaining 5-2 victory over Perth Glory at Westpac Stadium on Sunday.

In a free-flowing encounter, Phoenix fell behind early courtesy of a Xavi Torres goal before strikes to Dario Vidosic and Goran Paracki gave them a 2-1 advantage at the break.

Glory equalised through Shane Lowry early in the second half before a goal to Gui Finkler and a double from Andrija Kaluderovic secured a deserved victory for the Nix.


*In an end-to-end opening, Glory took the lead inside 10 minutes with Xavi Torres punishing Phoenix after Keegan Smith was adjudged to have handled a back-pass inside the box.

*The goal sprung the Phoenix into action and they restored parity with Dario Vidosic finding the net less than five minutes later.

*The game settled as the first half progressed with Perth enjoying the better of the contest with Diego Castro and Chris Harold prominent for the visitors.

*But against the run of play, Phoenix took the lead with Goran Paracki punishing a shocking error from Glory’s Scott Neville.

*Phoenix defender Dylan Fox, a late replacement for Scott Galloway, was forced off just before half-time with a suspected hamstring strain.

*Glory raced out of the blocks at the start of the second half and grabbed an equaliser through Shane Lowry before Phoenix hit back almost immediately through Gui Finkler.

*Both teams continued to look dangerous but it was Phoenix who all but sealed the result with Andrija Kaluderovic netting from the penalty spot with 15 to play.

*Kaluderovic put the icing on the cake in the dying minutes with a well-taken header to give Phoenix their maiden win of the season.




0-1: Torres, Perth Glory, 9’

After being awarded an indirect free kick inside the area, Diego Castro teed up Xavi Torres with the Spaniard curling a delightful strike into the top corner, leaving Smith with no chance.

1-1: Vidosic, Wellington Phoenix, 13’

Roy Krishna pounced on a loose ball before teasing a cross into the area with Vidosic rising highest to bury a clinical header from close range.

2-1: Paracki, Wellington Phoenix, 34’

Glory’s Scott Neville gifted the Phoenix the ball on the edge of the box with Krishna teeing up Paracki who slotted expertly from a tight angle.

2-2: Lowry, Perth Glory, 47’

Nichols found space on the right flank and whipped in an inviting cross which Lowry nodded past the helpless Smith.

3-2: Finkler, Wellington Phoenix, 52’

Krishna was released in behind before squaring to Finkler who showed great composure before slotting under Reddy.

4-2: Kaluderovic: Wellington Phoenix, 74’

Phoenix were awarded a penalty following a Glory handball inside the box and Kaluderovic made no mistake from the spot, coolly tucking the ball into the bottom corner.

5-2: Kaluderovic: Wellington Phoenix: 87’

Substitute Adam Parkhouse whipped in a neat ball into the box with Kaluderovic wriggling free of his marker to bury a superb header.

Related news

Hyundai A-League 2017/18
# Club P W D L PTS
Sydney FC 27 20 4 3 64
Newcastle Jets 27 15 5 7 50
Melbourne City FC 27 13 4 10 43
Melbourne Victory 27 12 5 10 41
Adelaide United 27 11 6 10 39
Brisbane Roar FC 27 10 5 12 35
Western Sydney Wanderers FC 27 8 9 10 33
Perth Glory 27 10 2 15 32
Wellington Phoenix 27 5 6 16 21
Central Coast Mariners 27 4 8 15 20