Wellington Phoenix
Brisbane Roar FC
Hyundai A-League R24
Westpac Stadium

Thrilling second half as Phoenix and Roar play out draw

In a contest that sprung to life spectacularly in the second half, Wellington Phoenix and Brisbane Roar played out a thrilling 2-2 draw in the Kiwi capital on Sunday. 



  • BRIGHT START Both sides showing good attacking intent in the opening 20 mins. 
  • GOAL-SAVING BLOCK Franjic with the vital block for Roar
  • GOOD SAVE Jamie Young getting down low to keep out Phoenix
  • MONTY SUBBED OFF Patterson goes down; Phoenix bring on Adam Parkhouse after 39 mins
  • HALF TIME 0-0 Plenty of attacking intent and it's been good to watch, but both sides lacking accuracy in front of goal. 
  • GOAL! Holman with a peach. Roar registering the opening goal on 50 mins. 
  • GOAL! Two mins later and Kaluderovic slides home the equaliser to end his own goal drought. 1-1 game on. 
  • GOAL! Logan Rogerson with his debut goal and Phoenix lead on 64 mins. 2-1. 
  • GOAL! Kristensen makes it 2-2! What a second half this has been! Four goals in 23 mins. 
  • PENALTY SHOUT FOR PHOENIX Kaluderovic bundled over; no pen says the referee. 
  • BURNS HITS BAR! Nathan Burns with a cracking drive that cannons off the bar as Phoenix push for a winner. 



Holman Roar 50', 0-1

A peach of a volley as Holman guides a cross past Sail with the inside of his right foot. No need for power, all about placement as Roar take the lead. 

Kaluderovic Phoenix 52', 1-1

Ljujic with a superb ball through splitting Roar's defence and the Serbian striker ran through and slipped it low past Young. 

Rogerson Phoenix 64', 2-1

Burns was able to get past a defender and then hang up a cross to the backpost and young Rogerson was there to meet it and put it into the back of the net 

Kristensen Roar 68', 2-2

A corner has paid off for the Roar this time as a good delivery finds Maccarone who hits his header at Parkhouse but the rebound goes out to Kristensen who can't miss from close range.


Hyundai A-League 2018/19
# Club P W D L PTS
Perth Glory 26 17 6 3 57
Sydney FC 26 16 4 6 52
Melbourne Victory 26 14 5 7 47
Adelaide United 27 12 8 7 44
Wellington Phoenix 26 11 7 8 40
Melbourne City FC 26 10 7 9 37
Newcastle Jets 26 9 5 12 32
Western Sydney Wanderers FC 26 6 6 14 24
Brisbane Roar FC 27 4 6 17 18
Central Coast Mariners 26 3 4 19 13