Sydney FC
Wellington Phoenix
Hyundai A-League R8
Allianz Stadium

Sydney FC and Phoenix share the spoils

Sydney FC and Phoenix have played out a dour 0-0 draw at Allianz Stadium on Thursday night.

After a scrappy first 45 minutes the fare didn’t get much better in the second half as both teams huffed and puffed but failed to land a killer blow.

Phoenix, however, hit the post in the second half courtesy of Alex Rodriguez as did the other Alex, Brosque of Sydney, with a great opportunity late as the game belatedly came to life.


Manny Muscat appeared to have pushed Sydney FC skipper Alex Brosque inside the box with 10 to go. It wasn’t given.

And minutes later Alex Brosque should’ve won it as he scooted past Fenton but fired onto the post as the ball ran across the goal-line and was scrambled away. 



So many moments of class from Roly Bonevacia. Sublime touches and awareness. One of the league’s finest attacking midfielders.


Brosque hit the post in the final 10 minutes. On his trusty left peg it looked like the winner. It wasn't. 


A disappointing night for the purists with a general lack of excitement but Phoenix will be happier with the point. As for Sydney, it’s now four games winless. They now must prepare to face the Jets next week at home as Phoenix return to New Zealand to meet the might of Victory.


Sydney FC: Janjetovic, Ryall, Gersbach, Jurman, Dimitrijevic (O’Neill 57’) Smeltz, Ninkovic (Hoole 57’), Brosque, Holosko (Simon 70’), Grant, Tavares

Subs: Anderson, Hoole, O’Neill, Simon, Necevski (GK)

Wellington Phoenix: Moss, Gulley (Powell 56’), Durante, Muscat, Doyle, Riera, Rodriguez, Fenton, Bonevacia (Sarpong 80’), McGlinchey (Lia 87’), Krishna.

Subs: Italiano (GK), Lia, Ridenton, Powell, Sarpong

Scorers: n/a

Red cards:  na/

Yellow cards: 

Sydney FC: Dimitrijevic, O’Neill, Smeltz

Phoenix: Bonevacia, Lia

Conditions:  Humid, Overcast

Attendance: 9253

Related news

Hyundai A-League 2017/18
# Club P W D L PTS
Sydney FC 27 20 4 3 64
Newcastle Jets 27 15 5 7 50
Melbourne City FC 27 13 4 10 43
Melbourne Victory 27 12 5 10 41
Adelaide United 27 11 6 10 39
Brisbane Roar FC 27 10 5 12 35
Western Sydney Wanderers FC 27 8 9 10 33
Perth Glory 27 10 2 15 32
Wellington Phoenix 27 5 6 16 21
Central Coast Mariners 27 4 8 15 20