Perth Glory
Sydney FC
Hyundai A-League R24
nib Stadium

Ruthless Sky Blues too strong for Glory

Freshly-crowned premiers Sydney FC celebrated their new silverware in style with a 3-0 win over a lacklustre Perth Glory at nib Stadium on Sunday.

The Sky Blues showed no signs of a dip in focus as two first-half goals helped put a significant dent in Perth’s hopes of hosting a home final.

Sydney FC.

Sydney had a string of chances to go ahead midway through the first half but Brandon O’Neill, Bobo and Alex Brosque all spurned good opportunities.

Those misses mattered little when Glory debutant Lucian Goian turned a corner into his net, before O’Neill doubled the advantage three minutes later with a laserlike finish.

Bobo added a third just after the hour to cap a dominant victory and complete Sydney’s season hattrick over Perth.

Catch up with all the action at our match centre here

Opta Widget: media:opta:e9d16e56-cec7-46c8-aefa-5684851f0043


0-1 Sydney: Goian OG, 38’

Debutant Lucian Goian attempted to control a corner but only succeeded in awkwardly directing the ball beyond Liam Reddy and into his own net.

0-2 Sydney: O’Neill, 41’

Given time and space outside the area, O’Neill picked his spot and stroked a firm finish into the bottom corner.

0-3 Sydney: Bobo, 62’

Bobo tucked away the finish but Sydney’s third was all about Alex Brosque as the skipper held off a defender and backheeled beautifully into his teammate’s path.

Re-live the match action on Twitter

@ALeague, @PerthGloryFC, @SydneyFC, #PERvSYD

Related news

Hyundai A-League 2017/18
# Club P W D L PTS
Sydney FC 27 20 4 3 64
Newcastle Jets 27 15 5 7 50
Melbourne City FC 27 13 4 10 43
Melbourne Victory 27 12 5 10 41
Adelaide United 27 11 6 10 39
Brisbane Roar FC 27 10 5 12 35
Western Sydney Wanderers FC 27 8 9 10 33
Perth Glory 27 10 2 15 32
Wellington Phoenix 27 5 6 16 21
Central Coast Mariners 27 4 8 15 20