Perth Glory
Sydney FC
Hyundai A-League R12
HBF Park

Glory go six points clear as Chianese & Santalab shatter Sydney FC curse

Joel Chianese and Brendon Santalab starred against former club Sydney FC as Perth Glory cemented their Premiers Plate favouritism in a 3-1 home win on Wednesday.

Melbourne Victory's earlier loss to Adelaide United afforded both teams an opportunity to underline their title credentials and Tony Popovic's table-toppers convincingly did so in a three-goal first half that sent them six points clear at the summit.

Chianese notched an 11-minute double and assisted the other for former Western Sydney Wanderers favourite Santalab, ensuring Adam Le Fondre's 68th-minute rocket was a minor blip for Glory as they snapped a nine-match losing streak against Sydney FC.

WATCH FOR FREE: How to watch the Hyundai A-League LIVE and FREE

Telstra banner

The Sky Blues were sliced open regularly during the first half and in no more eye-catching fashion than for Glory's first.

Jason Davidson exchanged a classy one-two with Diego Castro and delivered an excellent cross in from the left that Chianese clinically dispatched.

The former Sydney FC forward quickly made it a brace by skilfully controlling Neil Kilkenny's lofted pass with his chest and firing past an under-siege Andrew Redmayne.

Though unbeaten in their four previous fixtures, Steve Corica's side were totally outplayed in the opening stanza and shipped a third when Chianese found Santalab - starting in place of the benched Andy Keogh - for his maiden Glory goal.

The second half largely passed without incident until Juande's turnover led Le Fondre to lash an unstoppable rocket into the top-left corner, the striker's 11th goal of the campaign.

Liam Reddy then made a sharp save from Michael Zullo's volley but had little work to do over the remaining 10 minutes as Glory made amends for the 2-1 loss they suffered in this exact fixture last month.

New free to air banner

Related news

Hyundai A-League 2018/19
# Club P W D L PTS
Perth Glory 27 18 6 3 60
Sydney FC 27 16 4 7 52
Melbourne Victory 27 15 5 7 50
Adelaide United 27 12 8 7 44
Melbourne City FC 27 11 7 9 40
Wellington Phoenix 27 11 7 9 40
Newcastle Jets 27 10 5 12 35
Western Sydney Wanderers FC 27 6 6 15 24
Brisbane Roar FC 27 4 6 17 18
Central Coast Mariners 27 3 4 20 13