Perth Glory
Melbourne City FC
Hyundai A-League R15
HBF Park

Magic McCormack as City surge to glory against Perth

A brace from Ross McCormack and some more brilliance from youngster Daniel Arzani has guided Melbourne City to a comfortable 2-0 win over Perth Glory at nib Stadium on Tuesday night.

McCormack, who also bagged a double on the weekend, scored a record-breaking fourth free-kick of the season and then converted a penalty as City were in control by half-time.

And teenager Arzani again caught the eye in his first Hyundai A-League start, setting up both goals as Warren Joyce’s side consolidated third spot on the ladder.

For Glory, pressure is building after a third straight defeat, where they have conceded 11 goals and scored none.


PRE-GAME DRAMA: Glory’s Joseph Mills was injured in the warm-up and was forced out of the starting side before kick-off, replaced by Jake Brimmer.

GOAL! The visitors take an early lead via a Ross McCormack free-kick.

GOOD SPELL FOR GLORY: The home side worked their way into the match and Diego Castro (two) and Andy Keogh both squandered chances in a 10-minute period.

GOAL! Arzani won a penalty and McCormack made no mistake on 38 minutes to double City’s lead.

HALF-TIME: 0-2. City fairly comfortable and plenty of work to do for the home side.

DEBUTANT INTRODUCED: Glory boss Kenny Lowe brought on youngster Walter Scott at the break for his Hyundai A-League debut.

NO WAY THROUGH: Glory pushed and probed for much of the second half but struggled to create anything to threaten Dean Bouzanis’ goal.

Alex Grant


McCormack: City 9’ 1-0

Youngster Daniel Arzani won a free-kick right on the edge of the box and McCormack produced a gem of a shot, curling it up and over the wall and just inside the near post. A peach of a strike!

McCormack: City 38’ 2-0

Arzani was again the architect, driving into the box and being brought down for a penalty. McCormack sent Liam Reddy the wrong way, placing the ball into the corner of the net.

Hyundai A-League 2018/19
# Club P W D L PTS
Perth Glory 27 18 6 3 60
Sydney FC 27 16 4 7 52
Melbourne Victory 27 15 5 7 50
Adelaide United 27 12 8 7 44
Melbourne City FC 27 11 7 9 40
Wellington Phoenix 27 11 7 9 40
Newcastle Jets 27 10 5 12 35
Western Sydney Wanderers FC 27 6 6 15 24
Brisbane Roar FC 27 4 6 17 18
Central Coast Mariners 27 3 4 20 13