Perth Glory
Central Coast Mariners
Hyundai A-League R1
nib Stadium

Mariners snatch point in six-goal stunner

Central Coast Mariners sensationally fought back from a three-goal half-time deficit to deny Perth Glory in a 3-3 thriller at nib Stadium on Saturday night.

The contest looked to be over at the break after Adam Taggart’s brace helped the hosts to a commanding lead, but Paul Okon’s side launched an extraordinary comeback in the new man’s first match in charge.

After Roy O’Donovan cut the deficit, Mariners goalkeeper Ivan Necevski made a pair of crucial saves to keep the away side in the hunt.

Central Coast continued to push forward in search of an unlikely result and got their reward with a fortuitous Liam Reddy own goal and a second for O’Donovan capping the incredible comeback.

Catch up with all the action at our official match centre here.


1-0 Glory: Taggart, 3’

Receiving a quick free-kick on the left, Spanish superstar Diego Castro curled a perfect cross onto the head of an unmarked Taggart who made no mistake.

Glory striker Adam Taggart celebrates one of his two goals against the Mariners.

2-0 Glory: Taggart 27’

Taggart darted away from Jacques Faty’s shoulder for a second time before coolly turning Marc Warren’s whipped delivery back across Ivan Necevski.

3-0 Glory: Castro, 35’

Faty was again the culprit as he impeded the path of Chris Harold in the area, allowing Castro to dispatch the third from the spot.

3-1 Mariners: O’Donovan, 56’

Trent Buhagiar raced onto Storm Roux’s pass and directed a smart ball across the face for O’Donovan to tap home.

3-2 Mariners: Reddy OG, 84’

Warren’s clearance from Kwabena Appiah’s first-time finish ricochets off the head of Liam Reddy and into the back of the net.

Connor Pain and Kwabena Appiah celebrate a Mariners goal.

3-3 Mariners: O’Donovan, 86’

Rhys Williams was adjudged to have pulled down O’Donovan off the ball, leaving the Irish striker to bury a firm equaliser from the spot.

Re-live the match action on Twitter

@ALeague, @PerthGloryFC, @CCMariners, #PERvCCM

Related news

Hyundai A-League 2017/18
# Club P W D L PTS
Sydney FC 23 16 4 3 52
Newcastle Jets 23 14 5 4 47
Melbourne City FC 23 10 4 9 34
Melbourne Victory 22 9 5 8 32
Adelaide United 23 8 6 9 30
Western Sydney Wanderers FC 23 7 9 7 30
Brisbane Roar FC 23 8 4 11 28
Perth Glory 23 8 2 13 26
Central Coast Mariners 22 4 8 10 20
Wellington Phoenix 23 4 5 14 17