Melbourne Victory
Melbourne City FC
Hyundai A-League R2
Marvel Stadium

Cahill magic lifts City to thumping Melbourne Derby win

Tim Cahill lived up to his superstar billing with a breathtaking first Hyundai A-League goal in Melbourne City’s 4-1 derby drubbing of Melbourne Victory on Saturday night.

Cahill stunned over 40,000 fans at Etihad Stadium with a jaw-dropping half-volley just 27 minutes into his debut as City romped to their second straight win of the season.

Bruno Fornaroli soon doubled his side’s advantage with a smart header before Luke Brattan all but sealed three points shortly after the restart.

Victory pulled one back when Marco Rojas produced a sublime solo effort just after the hour, but their hopes faded when Fernando Brandan restored City’s three-goal advantage just seconds later.

Catch up with all the action at our match centre here


0-1 City: Cahill, 27’

Cahill immediately cemented his place in Melbourne City folklore with a long-range, first-time half-volley which caught out Lawrence Thomas and whistled into the goalkeeper’s top corner.

0-2 City: Fornaroli, 31’

Cahill was again involved in the lead-up as Nicolas Colazo curled a perfect cross to the far post for Fornaroli to head home.

0-3 City: Brattan, 52’

Bruce Kamau skipped away from Alan Baro, got to the byline and pulled a smart pass back for Brattan to bury at close-range.

1-3 Victory: Rojas, 62’

The New Zealand international skipped through a sea of defenders before finishing past Bouzanis to instil hope for Victory.

1-4 City: Brandan, 63’

Moments after Rojas’ goal, Brandan raced onto a pass down the line, outmanoeuvred Jason Geria and drove a dagger inside Thomas’ near post.

Re-live the match action on Twitter

@A-League, @gomvfc, @MelbourneCity, #MelbDerby

Related news

Hyundai A-League 2018/19
# Club P W D L PTS
Perth Glory 27 18 6 3 60
Sydney FC 27 16 4 7 52
Melbourne Victory 27 15 5 7 50
Adelaide United 27 12 8 7 44
Melbourne City FC 27 11 7 9 40
Wellington Phoenix 27 11 7 9 40
Newcastle Jets 27 10 5 12 35
Western Sydney Wanderers FC 27 6 6 15 24
Brisbane Roar FC 27 4 6 17 18
Central Coast Mariners 27 3 4 20 13