Melbourne City FC
Melbourne Victory
Hyundai A-League R11

Victory into second after fiery Melbourne Derby win

Melbourne Victory moved into second on the Hyundai A-League table after Besart Berisha scored the winner in a 2-1 derby triumph over Melbourne City at AAMI Park on Saturday night.

Having wasted a pair of first-half opportunities, Berisha capped Victory’s comeback from a 1-0 deficit by sweeping home a well-worked team move in the 78th minute.

Tim Cahill’s textbook header had given City the lead but Victory responded prior to half-time when Marco Rojas punished a defensive lapse.

The hotly-contested battle remained alive until the end but it was Berisha who atoned for his earlier errors by equalising Archie Thompson’s all-time Hyundai A-League goalscoring record.


1-0 City: Cahill, 16’

Luke Brattan’s corner hung high in the air and neither Carl Valeri or Alan Baro could stop Cahill from nodding the opener back across Lawrence Thomas.

1-1 Victory: Rojas, 24’

Ruan Tongyik afforded James Troisi too much time to head a second ball into the path of a free Rojas, who applied a tidy finish inside the near post.

1-2 Victory: Berisha, 78’

As Victory attacked in numbers, substitute Jai Ingham pushed a pass right to the overlapping Rojas who in turn picked out Berisha centrally for a simple finish.

Catch up with all the action at our match centre here

Re-live the match action on Twitter

@ALeague , @MelbourneCity , @gomvfc , #MelbDerby

Related news

Hyundai A-League 2018/19
# Club P W D L PTS
Perth Glory 22 15 6 1 51
Sydney FC 22 13 3 6 42
Melbourne Victory 22 12 5 5 41
Wellington Phoenix 22 9 7 6 34
Melbourne City FC 22 9 6 7 33
Adelaide United 22 8 7 7 31
Newcastle Jets 22 7 5 10 26
Western Sydney Wanderers FC 22 5 5 12 20
Brisbane Roar FC 22 3 6 13 15
Central Coast Mariners 22 2 4 16 10