Central Coast Mariners
Adelaide United
Hyundai A-League R7
Central Coast Stadium

Last-gasp Adelaide snatch victory over Mariners

Ryan Kitto volleyed in a 93rd minute winner to give Adelaide United a dramatic 2-1 victory Central Coast Mariners in Gosford on Thursday.

The winger fired through a crowded penalty area to seal the come-from-behind win and end the Reds' three-match losing run.

Daniel Adlung had sparked the fightback just prior to the hour when his thunderbolt from outside the area cancelled out Wout Brama's penalty.


  • An end-to-end start saw Andrew Hoole fail to make the most of a cross before Baba Diawara fired narrowly wide.
  • Ben Kennedy then did well to tip a classy Karim Matmour volley around the post.
  • An unmarked Nikola Mileusnic wasted a chance to open the scoring when he turned Isaias' pass into the crossbar at close-range.
  • And he was made to pay as the Mariners almost immediately made it 1-0 through Brama, who made no mistake from the penalty spot.
  • Adelaide found a way back when Adlung unleashed an unstoppable rocket into the top corner from outside the area.
  • George Blackwood and Matmour both had chances to score the winner late in proceedings.
  • But their misses didn't matter as Kitto popped up to give Marco Kurz's men a well-earned three points.
Mariners Adelaide
Kwabena Appiah comes under attention from Ben Garuccio and Ersan Gulum.


Brama, Central Coast Mariners 40': 1-0

The Dutch midfielder rolled home a cool penalty after Diawara shoved Connor Pain inside the area.

Adlung, Adelaide United 59': 1-1

After Central Coast failed to fully clear an Isaias cross, Adlung thumped a first-time bullet beyond Kennedy to give the visitors life.

Kitto, Adelaide United 90'+3: 1-2

Kitto had looked dangerous all game and got his reward after substitute Mark Ochieng inventively lobbed the ball over his shoulder and back into the danger area.

Related news

Hyundai A-League 2018/19
# Club P W D L PTS
Perth Glory 22 15 6 1 51
Sydney FC 22 13 3 6 42
Melbourne Victory 22 12 5 5 41
Wellington Phoenix 22 9 7 6 34
Melbourne City FC 22 9 6 7 33
Adelaide United 22 8 7 7 31
Newcastle Jets 22 7 5 10 26
Western Sydney Wanderers FC 22 5 5 12 20
Brisbane Roar FC 22 3 6 13 15
Central Coast Mariners 22 2 4 16 10