Brisbane Roar FC
Melbourne Victory
Hyundai A-League R1
Suncorp Stadium

Stunning late drama kicks off Hyundai A-League season

A 10-man Brisbane Roar have scored a dramatic equaliser in the last-minute of added time to snatch a 1-1 draw against Melbourne Victory in the Hyundai A-League 2016/17 season opener at Suncorp Stadium on Friday night.

A goal from Mitch Austin in his Victory debut with seven minutes remaining looked to have given the visitors all three points but Luke DeVere rescued his side a point with practically the last kick of the match.

Brett Holman was impressive in his maiden A-League start but it was an unhappy night for Roar skipper Matt McKay who saw red with 25 minutes remaining in what was his 200th appearance for the club.


0-1 Victory, Mitch Austin 83’

Fahid Ben Khalfallah crossed the ball into a crowed box from the right, with Austin reacting quickest to the second ball to fire through the legs of Roar keeper Michael Theo.

1-1 Roar, Luke DeVere 90+6’

Jamie Maclaren earned his side a free-kick with the full-time whistle beckoning, with DeVere getting on the end of the delivery after the ball had been pin-balled around in the box.


Matt McKay, 66’

The Roar skipper picked up a yellow card in each half for two fouls on Ben Khalfallah, earning his marching orders for the fifth time in his 200 game Roar career.

Re-live the match action on Twitter

@ALeague @gomvfc @brisbaneroar #BRIvMVC

Related news

Hyundai A-League 2017/18
# Club P W D L PTS
Sydney FC 27 20 4 3 64
Newcastle Jets 27 15 5 7 50
Melbourne City FC 27 13 4 10 43
Melbourne Victory 27 12 5 10 41
Adelaide United 27 11 6 10 39
Brisbane Roar FC 27 10 5 12 35
Western Sydney Wanderers FC 27 8 9 10 33
Perth Glory 27 10 2 15 32
Wellington Phoenix 27 5 6 16 21
Central Coast Mariners 27 4 8 15 20