Adelaide United
Melbourne City FC
Hyundai A-League R15
Coopers Stadium

Youngster the hero as Adelaide stun City

Adelaide United have caused one of the upsets of the season after stunning Melbourne City 2-1 in sizzling conditions at Coopers Stadium on Thursday night.

Goals to Dylan McGowan and substitute Mark Ochieng cancelled out an early Bruno Fornaroli strike as Adelaide recorded just their second win of the campaign.

In a match played in stifling conditions, City raced out of the blocks and took the lead inside five minutes with Bruno Fornaroli netting his 11th goal of the season.

Adelaide quickly settled and found themselves level less than five minutes later with Dylan McGowan restoring parity with a well-taken header.

A free-flowing encounter developed as the game progressed with both sides enjoying periods of dominance in an entertaining affair.

But with the match headed for a draw,  Adelaide youngster Mark Ochieng netted a superbly-taken strike - his first in the A-League - to hand the Reds a thrilling victory. 

Catch up with all the action at our match centre here


0-1 Melbourne City: Bruno Fornaroli, 4’

Ruon Tongyik’s through ball found its way through to Bruce Kamau on the right flank with the winger delivering a teasing cross which Fornaroli calmly slotted past Eugene Galekovic.

1-1 Adelaide United: Dylan McGowan, 10’

Isaias delivered a wicked ball into the box from a free kick which found an unmarked McGowan inside the area with the centre-back burying a powerful header into the back of the net.

2-1 Adelaide United: Mark Ochieng, 87’

James Holland played a long ball to Sergi Guardiola with the Spaniard expertly cushioning the ball into the path of Ochieng with the substitute dispatching a cracking strike into the top corner. 

Re-live the match action on Twitter

@ALeague, @AdelaideUnited, @MelbourneCity, #ADLvMCY


Related news

Hyundai A-League 2018/19
# Club P W D L PTS
Perth Glory 22 15 6 1 51
Sydney FC 22 13 3 6 42
Melbourne Victory 22 12 5 5 41
Wellington Phoenix 22 9 7 6 34
Melbourne City FC 22 9 6 7 33
Adelaide United 22 8 7 7 31
Newcastle Jets 22 7 5 10 26
Western Sydney Wanderers FC 22 5 5 12 20
Brisbane Roar FC 22 3 6 13 15
Central Coast Mariners 22 2 4 16 10