Adelaide United
Central Coast Mariners
Hyundai A-League R5
Coopers Stadium

Pain stunner inspires Mariners to upset win over Adelaide

A stunning second half comeback – and a Connor Pain howitzer – has inspired Central Coast Mariners to their first win of the season, beating Adelaide United 2-1 on Sunday.

A Sergi Guardiola penalty had the Reds 1-0 up at the break at Coopers Stadium before the Mariners launched their fightback.

First Roy O’Donovan levelled things up two minutes into the second half before Pain produced an absolute screamer just before the hour mark to complete the turnaround.

Despite their best efforts – and the return of playmaker Marcelo Carrusca for the last 30 minutes – Adelaide couldn’t find an equaliser as they slumped to a fourth straight defeat in the Hyundai A-League.

But it was delight for Paul Okon and the Mariners as the club picked up their first victory in 281 days since a win over Wellington in round 17 last season.

Catch up with all the action in our match centre here


1-0 Adelaide: Sergi Guardiola, 27’

Tarek Elrich’s right-wing cross looked to tee up Guardiola only for the striker to be brought down in the box by a mis-timed sliding challenge from Storm Roux for a penalty. The Spaniard sent Paul Izzo the wrong way, calmly placing the ball into the bottom right corner.

1-1 Mariners: Roy O’Donovan, 47’

A turnover in midfield allowed Connor Pain to win the ball and he produced a peach of a pass over the top of the defence to send O’Donovan through one-on-one. And the Irishman did the rest, lobbing it over Eugene Galekovic and into the net.

1-2 Mariners: Connor Pain, 57’

A cross from the right made its way to Pain just outside the box. He cut back inside onto his right foot and unleashed a rocket of a shot which whistled into the top corner. An absolute ripper!

Re-live the match action on Twitter

@ALeague, @AdelaideUnited, @CCMariners, #ADLvCCM

Related news

Hyundai A-League 2018/19
# Club P W D L PTS
Perth Glory 27 18 6 3 60
Sydney FC 27 16 4 7 52
Melbourne Victory 27 15 5 7 50
Adelaide United 27 12 8 7 44
Melbourne City FC 27 11 7 9 40
Wellington Phoenix 27 11 7 9 40
Newcastle Jets 27 10 5 12 35
Western Sydney Wanderers FC 27 6 6 15 24
Brisbane Roar FC 27 4 6 17 18
Central Coast Mariners 27 3 4 20 13