Hyundai A-League Expansion

Football Federation Australia (FFA) has formally started its process to expand the Hyundai A-League by two (2) new A-League Clubs from the 2019/20 season.


FFA has invited all interested parties wishing to obtain a new licence to participate in the Hyundai A-League to respond to FFA’s Invitation for Expression of Interest (EOI).  


Registered parties will be provided with further information, including:

  • clarifications issued during the EOI process; and
  • any additional information which FFA may issue.


At the conclusion of the EOI stage of the process, FFA intends to then issue a Request for Proposal to shortlisted parties inviting the submission of detailed binding proposals.  


A final decision on the expansion of the Hyundai A-League is envisaged to be made by the FFA Board in October 2018.  Any decision to grant a new licence to participate in the Hyundai A-League will be made in the best interests of football in Australia.


An indicative timeline for the process is as follows:




Release of Invitation for EOI

29 March 2018

Closing date for submission of EOI Response

24 May 2018

Confirmation of shortlisted bidders

June 2018

Release of Request for Proposal 

11 June 2018

Deadline for submission of proposals

31 August 2018


31 October 2018


FFA reserves the right at its sole and absolute discretion to vary any aspect of the Hyundai A-League expansion process, including any timelines and may decline to register an interested party.